The Hatfield Lecture series is sponsored by the Lafayette College Libraries and endowed by a generous gift from alumnus John L. Hatfield ‘67.  The series brings a prominent author to campus for a public lecture and to visit with students.  The Hatfield lecture occurs once a year in the spring, usually in February or early March, and has become an annual highlight for the college.  The libraries are proud to provide a home for the series, which has celebrated great writing, since 2008.

Past Speakers

  • 2023
    Jia Tolentino, Against Optimization
  • 2022
    Valeria Luiselli, Migration Stories
  • 2021
    Tressie McMillan Cottom, An Evening with Tressie McMillan Cottom
  • 2020
    Robert McFarlane, Underland: a deep time journey
  • 2019
    Susan Orlean, Shelf Awareness: Finding Myself in the Library
  • 2018
    Kevin Young, The Grey Album
  • 2017
    Lynn Nottage, Reflections on “Sweat”
  • 2016
    Leslie Jamison, The Open Courtyard
  • 2015
    Jill Lepore, The Secret History of Wonder Woman
  • 2014
    Natasha Trethewey, 19th Poet Laureate of the United States
  • 2013
    Geraldine Brooks, The Art of Historical Fiction
  • 2012
    David Henry Hwang,  Lost (and Found) in Translation
  • 2011
    Donald L. Miller, Sodom on the Hudson
  • 2010
    Karla F. C. Holloway, Reading Culture, Reading Race
  • 2009
    Lloyd Kramer, Lafayette’s Historical Legacy: Politics, Culture, and the Modern World
  • 2008
    Richard Carwardine, Abraham Lincoln’s Leadership

To nominate a speaker:

If you would like to nominate a speaker to present at this annual lecture, please fill out the form below.

Nominate a Speaker